Previous chats disappearing when closing cursor

Dear Cursor community,

I am struggling with an issue with my past chats. I am not sure if it is due to the last update or moving to a new machine (I did them both simultaneously), yet my chat history is no longer there. Each time I restart Cursor, the history is gone. Also, I do not see the ‘More’ tab either, and once again I am not sure if it is on purpose due to the last update or if its just me. I already re-installed it several times but nothing improved.

I am quite lost as I am not even sure where the past chats are apparently saved. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bests,
Rodrigo

Hi @Rodrigo_RB!

Thank you for reporting this issue.

In terms of the chat history, are you opening the same workspace (project) each time? Cursor chat history is workspace-based, meaning the history is different per workspace. If you are opening the same project, could you please provide a screen recording of the reproduction steps? That would be very helpful!

Also, with regards to the ‘More’ tab, with our latest update, we’ve decided to move all of its contents into the Cursor Settings, which you can open by ctrl/cmd+shift+J or ctrl/cmd+p then “Cursor: Open settings”. All of the previous ‘More’ contents have been moved to the ‘Beta’ tab.

Let me know if you have any other questions, I’ll be here to help.

1 Like

Dear shaoruu,

I suppose that it was a workspace issue as the history is back!

Bests,
Rodrigo

That’s awesome to hear! Glad to be helpful :))

 ~/eon-features  tree                                                                                    
.
├── eon-features.code-workspace
└── ml-feature-set
    ├── README.md
    ├── __pycache__

If I change the name of the directory ~/eon-features to ~/dev as follows:

 ~/dev  tree                                                                                    
.
├── eon-features.code-workspace
└── ml-feature-set
    ├── README.md
    ├── __pycache__

all the history in the “All Chats” be gone!

But if I change the directory name back, the history will all come back.

Is there a way to retain my history while allowing me to change the top level directory name?